Dewey’s Books Challenge

For a while I have been thinking, that it would have been great IF Dewey’s lovely blog would have NOT gone down. I would have loved to go there and edit my list of books or just hangout on her blog…
Most of you know, that I had a old blog that got deleted, as I was going through the old posts on that blog, I found this post in which I have listed some books for Dewey’s challenge. I thought if all of us who have made lists like that, can come and put them all together… we might have a huge list of books that Dewey read!! I don’t know, if anyone has done this, but if it has been done, I would love to contribute ~~

I have gone through her archives till Aug, 2006 – and here is my list so far~~

  1. Into the Forest by Jean Hegland
  2. The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen
  3. The Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier
  4. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  5. Property by Valerie Martin
  6. Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant
  7. Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brooks
  8. Saturday by Ian McEwan
  9. The World According to Garp BY John Irving
  10. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
  11. Catalyst by Laurie Halse Anderson
  12. Kindred by Octavia Butler
  13. The Little Women by Katharine Weber
  14. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  15. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
  16. Looking for Alaska by John Green
  17. East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  18. Purple Hibiscus by Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie

=========================================

The above list of books are my fav recommendations from Dewey, and so they will remain for me to choose my next books!
But I have decided on the 5 books I am going to read!

  1. Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie
  2. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen [ review ]
  3. Atonement by Ian Ewan
  4. Suite Française by Irène Némirovsky
  5. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini [review]

If you had created a list, you can leave the info here…
Let’s see, if I can do this πŸ™‚
Challenge Blog is here!
Have a good day! I am done with 2 of 5 πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Dewey’s Books Challenge

  1. 1. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak2. Monster – Walter Dean Myers3. Alias Grace – Margaret Atwood4. Coraline – Neil Gaimen5. The Golden Compass – Phillip PullmenThis lis I saw at Just Books [http://sherriesbooks.blogspot.com/2009/06/review-alias-grace.html]

  2. Here are the books that I read for the challenge. I'm including links too, because (at least before Dewey's blog went down) I was quoting what she thought of the books too, so that might be interesting for some people.1. Into the Forest by Jean Heglandhttp://www.mybitofearth.net/2009/04/deweys-books-into-the-forest.html2. Broken For You by Stephanie Kallos http://www.mybitofearth.net/2009/09/deweys-books-broken-for-you.html3. Year of Wonders by Geraldine Brookshttp://www.mybitofearth.net/2009/05/deweys-books-year-of-wonders.html4. March by Geraldine Brookshttp://www.mybitofearth.net/2009/01/deweys-books-march.html5. Savage Beauty by Nancy Milfordhttp://www.mybitofearth.net/2009/03/deweys-books-savage-beauty.html6. How I Live Now by Meg Rosoffhttp://www.mybitofearth.net/2009/02/deweys-books-how-i-live-now.html

  3. What a sweet idea, Veens!1. Gifted – Nikita Lalwani2. The Uncommon Reader – Alan Bennett3. The Complete Persepolis – Marjane Satrapi4. The Post-Birthday World – Lionel Shriver 5. Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Adichie

  4. What a great idea to keep a list of Deweys books! I read the following for the challenge:Invention Of Hugo Cabret – Brian SelznickBefore I Die – Jenny DownhamTale Of One Bad Rat – Bryan TalbotAmerican Born Chinese – Gene Luen Yang Westing Game – Ellen RaskinLiving Dead Girl – Elizabeth ScottAnd I think I may have jotted down a couple of other titles from Deweys blog. I'll take a look for them and add them if I find the notepaper.

Leave a Reply

